Some good news and some bad news

2014-01-26 09.43.11First the bad news: My Yaktrax Walker Traction Device started falling apart a few days ago, after only a month of occasional use! The rubber strands are coming apart, and some parts of the metal rings have come off or are loose. While I can still wear it, it doesn’t do the job like it used to, and it starts coming off my sneakers after running only a few miles. In fact, just yesterday I lost one of my two traction enhancers. It fell off in a very snowy area and I didn’t even notice until long after. This makes the one I do have left which is pictured above all but useless – what good is one traction enhancer?

This is very disappointing. I was hoping they would last at least until the end of the winter. It looks like these are made for walking in wintry conditions, not distance running.

The good news: I am making great progress with recovering from the knee injury. I ran 10 miles yesterday, and only felt a little soreness in my right knee. It was a very slow run due to the snow and ice on the ground, not to mention the cold air, but it felt great to cover this distance after almost 2 weeks of no significant running(I did a 3 mile run a few days ago). I hope the soreness continues to go away. I may attempt a long run soon.

I hope everyone is doing great!

3 responses to “Some good news and some bad news

  1. I like the good news 🙂

  2. I have the same YakTrax and mine too have begun falling apart. The rubber tore in a couple of places and there are jagged metal bits sticking out now. Very disappointing.

    • Hi Miss Dolly,

      I appreciate your comments. Yeah, it’s become obvious to both of us that this is junk, I threw mine away weeks ago. I will get something that lasts longer next winter.

      I love what you’re doing on your blog and with your life! Very creative, and it’s great to not see a bunch of women who look like Auschwitz survivors posing. Keep doing what you’re doing, Miss Dolly!

      And do come again!

Leave a Reply

