Lavender aromatherapy for insomnia and depression

2013-10-29 22.17.28Occasionally, when I feel wired before bedtime, I will sprinkle a little lavender oil on my pillow. I believe its very soothing, pleasing aroma helps me relax and fall asleep faster. But how helpful is it?

According to the study, Effects of lavender aromatherapy on insomnia and depression in women college students, done at the Department of Nursing, Keukdong College, Chungcheongbuk-Do, Korea:

CONCLUSION:

According to the study results, it can be concluded that the lavender fragrance had a beneficial effect on insomnia and depression in women college students. Repeated studies are needed to confirm effective proportions of lavender oil and carrier oil for insomnia and depression.

Interesting findings, though preliminary. Another study on lavender from Chiba University Graduate School of Medicine showed that:

CONCLUSIONS:

Lavender aromatherapy reduced serum cortisol and improved CFVR in healthy men. These findings suggest that lavender aromatherapy has relaxation effects and may have beneficial acute effects on coronary circulation.

This sounds a little more convincing, since they measured blood cortisol levels and coronary flow velocity reserves, which are more objective measures of stress.  If you have a little trouble sleeping, it certainly can’t hurt to sprinkle a little lavender oil on your pillow or to use lavender aromatherapy to help you relax. But if you have severe insomnia or depression, seek medical help immediately.

5 responses to “Lavender aromatherapy for insomnia and depression

  1. Might have to try this.

    • It may or may not help. If it helps the effect is mostly mild, but consult a doctor or health practitioner if you have serious sleep issues. Never ingest the oil, it is toxic, just breathing it may help, though I am not an expert so you should just ignore my advice. 🙂 Always great having you around.

      • Ha. My real problem is I refuse to go to bed, so I’m not sure anything will help. But at least it might help me fall asleep on the couch an hour earlier 🙂

  2. I love this! I got hooked on Lavender Oil when I stayed in a hotel and they had the ‘This Works, Deep Sleep’ pillow spray – honestly it was the best night’s sleep I’ve ever had!!

    • That sounds like a fantastic hotel, and its nice to meet another lavender enthusiast. I’m hardly addicted to lavender oil, but I do like to use it to help me relax. I only sprinkle a little bit of the lovely oil on my pillow sometimes, which allows me to inhale the lavender essence before and during sleep. Most of the aroma is gone by morning. Which reminds me, I just ran out of lavender oil! Sometimes, I feel like I am falling asleep in a field of lavender flowers when I use it.

      It’s fun experimenting with essential oils. Other oils like peppermint, ginger, or cinnamon seem to have more of a stimulating effect. They also seem to help my sinuses. I also love herbal tea, especially mint, which also contains some essential oils. Thanks for coming by and do come again Yassy!

Leave a Reply

