Road’s End Organics Dairy Free Shells & Chreese

IMG_1430If you can’t or won’t eat anything dairy, yet occasionally want to eat something “cheesy”, there’s a growing number of vegan cheese substitutes available to you. Depending on your expectations, these may satisfy your craving for something cheesy, or they may just be poor imitations of cheese. I think they are all worth a try.

IMG_1420

If you are looking for vegan mac and cheese, the best dairy-free substitute I am aware of is Road’s End Organic’s Shells & Chreese. That’s right, “chreese”. Chreese, which sort of tastes like cheese is a mixture of yeast, wheat flour, tapioca starch, mustard powder, garlic powder, onion powder, annatto powder, and salt(no casein or lactose).

IMG_1426

It’s pretty easy to prepare. Just pour the contents of the chreese powder mix into a sauce pan with rice milk(or any vegan “milk”), and some oil if you want, and mix it with the already cooked shells at medium heat. Stir thoroughly to make sure the powder is dissolved into the mixture.

Without the rice milk or oil, the shells and chreese is 320 calories per serving(2 servings per package). I love having broccoli on the side. It satisfies my cravings for something “cheese-like”, but it doesn’t taste exactly like cheese. And it doesn’t trigger my dairy allergy, a huge plus. I always add a lot of cayenne pepper powder, and garlic powder to improve its taste.

4 responses to “Road’s End Organics Dairy Free Shells & Chreese

  1. great recipe and for sure tasty 🙂

  2. I remember the first time I tried this, before I was accustomed to nutritional yeast (many, Many, MANY years ago!). If you’re not ready for that taste, this may give you a jolt! I need to try it again now that I put nutritional yeast on practically everything, thanks for the reminder 🙂

  3. I love that there is a “mac and cheese” in a box version for us vegans. I haven’t tried this but am curious now.

Leave a Reply

