RIP Sarah Guillot-Guyard

This is a sad day. We just lost a very accomplished athlete and circus performer. Besides being a very accomplished acrobat, Sarah Guillot-Guyard was also a mother of two. Some people may believe acrobatics is inherently dangerous(see my recent post: The “dangers of running and the availability heuristic”), but this is the first death of a performer in the entire history of the Cirque du Soleil. There is no such thing as a 100% safe activity.

Her family and friends have my condolences. As terrible as this is, Guyard died doing something she loved.

 

 

4 responses to “RIP Sarah Guillot-Guyard

  1. It was so sad. They are amazing performers. I am a paramedic and can only put myself in everyone’s shoes that fateful moment. My heart goes out to her family, her fellow co-workers, the first responders and the audience members. But we must remember her and all the joy she gave us while she was alive!

    • I’m glad you posted that. I couldn’t have said it any better myself. She brought joy to so many people as a circus performer and taught basic acrobatics to youth for fun and fitness.

      • I just read that today! My daughter wanted to join when she was twelve she loved them so much. She’s still a dancer now at 19 and we still love to watch them perform. It saddened both our hearts….

  2. I send my condolences as well.

Leave a Reply

